Australia Day Council Northern Territory


Australian music legends, educators, community leaders, an ecologist and a 17-year-old medical student are among nominees for the 2024 Australian of the Year Awards for the Northern Territory.

The 2024 award nominees are:

2024 Australian of the Year for the Northern Territory

  • Professor Alan Andersen – Ecologist and science communicator (Darwin)
  • Sammy Butcher – Musician, composer, teacher and elder (Papunya)
  • Benjamin Graetz – LGBTIQ+ advocate, leader and performing artist (Darwin)
  • Blair McFarland – Founder, Central Australian Youth Link-Up Service (Alice Springs)

2024 Senior Australian of the Year for the Northern Territory

  • Leony Bowey – Founding member, Multicultural Community Services of Central Australia (Alice Springs)
  • Elizabeth Hart – Community fundraiser and volunteer (Katherine)
  • Associate Professor Elaine Ḻäwurrpa Maypilama – Researcher, educator & co-founder, Yalu Aboriginal Corporation (Elcho Island)
  • Yalmay Yunupingu – Teacher, linguist and community leader (Yirrkala)

2024 Young Australian of the Year for the Northern Territory

  • Jordon Humphreys – Youth, disability, mental health and anti-bullying advocate (Alice Springs)
  • Amy James – Singer, songwriter and disability advocate (Tennant Creek)
  • Leela Kruger – Engagement officer, Gillen Primary School (Alice Springs)
  • Peter Susanto – Medical student and community volunteer (Rapid Creek, Darwin)

2024 Local Hero for the Northern Territory

  • Deborah Jones – Founder, Clubhouse Territory (Darwin)
  • Witiyana Marika – Musician and filmmaker (Yirrkala)
  • Ben Poveda-Alfonso – Co-founder, Kindness Shake (Darwin)
  • Dr Mark de Souza – Chair, Sustainable Healthcare Committee (Top End Region) (Darwin)

The Northern Territory nominees are among 133 people being recognised across all states and territories.

The NT award recipients will be announced on Monday 6 November 2023 in a ceremony at the Darwin Convention Centre, which will also be available to watch online at

They will then join the other state and territory recipients as national finalists for the national awards announcement on Thursday 25 January 2024 in Canberra.