Australia Day Council Northern Territory
2023 Northern Territory Australian of the Year Samuel Bush-Blanasi

Congratulations to our 2023 NT Australian of the Year recipients.

Proud Mayili man Samuel Bush-Blanasi has worked for decades to empower Indigenous Australians.

As chair of the Northern Land Council, he’s been instrumental in progressing sea country rights in Arnhem Land.

In 2022, the Aboriginal Sea Company commenced operations.

It will provide employment and allow traditional owners to oversee commercial fishing, aquaculture, and related activities along the coast.

Click here to read about the 2023 Northern Territory recipients in each category.